Skip to content

How To Deactivate A Reddit Account?

Reddit is a social media platform that allows you to view and post content, similar to a forum. The main difference is that on Reddit, you view and post content based on topic or category channels.

These channels are called subreddits, which range from funny or funny content, to politics or political content, to specific topics like veganism or vegetarianism. There is a subreddit for almost anything!

Reddit has both user and official accounts that can be linked. User accounts are just like the username you use to post and comment on Reddit. Official accounts are run by companies or organizations to promote their business or project.

Like any social media platform, it is possible to deactivate or completely delete your account. How do you do this? We’ll explain how to deactivate your account and why you might want to do so. If you’re ready to make the switch, we’ll tell you how to totally delete your account.

Click on “account settings”

 

Next, you will want to click on “account settings”. This can be found in the top right of the page, next to account preferences. You will need to login to do this.

Here you can update your account information, edit your password, enable two-factor authentication, and deactivate your account.

Two-factor authentication is a nice security boost that makes it more difficult for someone else to access your account. We will go into more detail about that later!

You can also choose how long you would like to be inactive before being forced to log in again. This is a good feature for people who know they will not be using the site for a while but do not want to completely delete their account.

You can either lower the time requirement or keep it at the default setting of one month.

Click on “delete account”

Once you are in the account deletion page, you will be asked to confirm that you want to delete your account by entering your account password and clicking “delete account”.

This is the last chance to back out, so make sure you are ready!

Reddit will then ask you to enter your email address and explain that they will send you a confirmation email with a link to undo your account deletion. This is just in case you made a mistake and want to quickly reactivate your account.

Once this is done, your account is deleted. There is no going back! Luckily, there is that email confirmation link so that you can reactivate your account if necessary.

Remember, once an account is deleted, it cannot be restored.

Type in your password

Following the password entry prompt, you will be asked to type in your account password. This is to make sure that you are the owner of the account and that no one else has access to your account.

Make sure you enter your account password correctly as this is the key to accessing your account! If you have trouble remembering your password, we recommend writing it down and storing it in a safe place.

Once entered, you will be redirected to the login page and asked to log in with your newly created username and password. This is just a safety measure so that someone else does not log into your account instead.

If you do not log into your account within seven days, your account will be automatically deactivated. This is done as a security measure so that someone cannot access your account if you do not log out before then.

Check the box and click on “ delete account”

Now that you have your account, you can delete it at any time. You can do this at the account page under settings.

Under the account settings page, there is a “delete account” button. Once you click this button, you will be asked to confirm your identity via email verification and to provide a reason for deleting your account.

Once you do this, your account will be deleted! There is no turning back after you confirm the action.

Reddit offers no way to partially delete an account. If you want to take down an account, then you need to create a new one and start from scratch. So make sure that this is what you want before confirming the action!

After your account is deleted, all of your posts are permanently removed from the site. Your profile remains, but all of your posts and comments are gone.

Wait for the confirmation message

Once you have completed the account deletion process, you cannot go back. Make sure that you are ready to delete your account for good!

Once you have deleted your account, you will need to wait approximately 1 month before you can create a new account. This is intended to prevent people from constantly creating and deleting accounts.

During this ban period, Reddit reviews your past accounts and behavior. If you have been a positive member of the community, you will be able to re-register.

That’s it! Your account is now deleted!

Once you have completed the above steps, you can now relax. Your Reddit account is now deleted and you can move on with your life. Well, unless you create another Reddit account, then you will have to go through these steps again.

If you ever change your mind, however, you can always re-activate your account by following the above steps in reverse.

Or is it?

While very few Reddit users will ever need to deactivate an account, there are situations in which it may be necessary.

If you create an account under a fake name, you may want to deactivate the account if you are forced to use your real name. If you have a personal and professional account, you may want to deactivate the personal one if you are fired.

However, if you decide to deactivate your account, make sure you do not confuse the two-you might cancel the wrong one!

If you are going to be away from Reddit for a long period of time, it is probably best to just leave your account active. If you decide to return after a while, it will still be there and everything will still be the same.

There is no way to completely delete an account unless you know your password and use an email address that was registered on Reddit. Otherwise, all accounts are permanently active.

What if I want to join again?

If you decide to join Reddit again at a later date, you can do so by going to your account settings. Under the password section, you can choose to have an account reset sent to your email.

Once you create a new account, you can use this email verification link to restore your old account as a subordinate account. This allows you to keep your old account active even if you create a new one.

However, if you decide to join again and re-join the same sub-Reddit groups, there is no guarantee people will remember you or accept you back. You may have burned some bridges and should receive some feedback on that.

People are very opinionated and will not forget what they said about someone or something.

nv-author-image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *