Skip to content

How To Block Inappropriate Content On Youtube?

With the rise of the internet, content is plentiful- you have your social media sites like Facebook and Twitter, YouTube, forums, blogs, etc.

There’s just one problem though; there is no way to control what other people put onto these websites. If someone wanted to make or spread hateful material or inappropriate pictures/videos, they could easily do so.

In fact, it’s become very common for users to upload content that contains nudity, violence, or both. All too often this offensive material is viewable by children who access the site via family accounts!

As parents ourselves, we are well aware how uncomfortable it can be when our kids come across something questionable. This is why I’ll go into detail about some easy ways to block inappropriate content on YouTube.

Open the YouTube app

The first step in blocking inappropriate content is making sure you have the most up-to-date version of the YouTube app!

The YouTube app comes preloaded onto almost all smartphone these days, but make no mistake – it’s expensive! There’s an affordable paid plan that includes some ad free features, and then there are cost-free apps like LimeWire which add very little value beyond being able to access external documents and play certain media types.

We recommend sticking with the YouTube app at its “basic” level unless you really need something more. This will remove ads while you’re watching videos, but won’t give you full access to private profiles or additional features such as creating your own accounts. If you’re only going to watch one or two videos a week then this can be okay, but if you’re spending money on YouTube then we suggest investing in the premium package.

Open the YouTube app and take a look around. You should now see a blue bar across the top of the app telling you what time each video was uploaded and when it expired (if it did). To the left you’ll also see your profile settings, comments, notifications and messages.

To the right you’ll find the suggested videos section. These are videos from our community who made enough quality recommendations to earn a spot under the spotlight.

Look for the YouTube logo

There’s an easy way to block any content you don’t want to watch. Simply look for the “YouTube logo” in the browser bar and it will take you to YouTube directly.

From there, you can unfollow or mute someone, remove a channel, or even delete your account!

This is very helpful if you find that something offensive has been uploaded onto the platform or someone has managed to gain access to your profile and left vulgar comments. You can also do this when someone else has made excessive use of the reporting tools.

You may have noticed some changes with the layout and design of the site while you were using it, as well.

Click on the YouTube logo

The next step is to click on the YouTube logo at the top of the screen to take you to your account settings.

Here, you can choose whether to allow or block content that violates Google’s Terms of Service or Community Guidelines.

You also have the option to prevent some types of comments from being left under videos you are watching. There is even an option to customize which comments appear in the “watch later” section of a video!

It is very important to understand that blocking any content does not guarantee that people will be unable to view that content. It simply means that they must go through another process to find it.

For example, someone who wants to watch a movie that has been blocked may search for information about the movie on sites like IMDB or Netflix.

Go to Settings

In the settings section of YouTube, you can choose to block or remove specific accounts, channels, comments, or videos that contain content you find inappropriate. You can also report any kind of copyright infringement!

The first step is to navigate to your YouTube account at https://www.youtube.com/. Then, head into the settings area by clicking “Settings” in the left-hand column.

You will then be taken to the Account page, where you can access all of your personal information as well as setting changes for each element of the platform.

To easily identify which elements need attention, there are three tabs across the top. These are For you (Personal), For others (Public) and Messages & calls. The last two refer to how people can contact you through the app and phone, respectively.

Under the Community guidelines tab, you have the option to toggle On or Off the feature that allows users to flag offensive content with just one click. This helps reduce unnecessary flags so that you do not receive false positives.

For Channel owners, under the Tools section you can opt to disable Comments or restrict Comment Moderation. Both of these allow you more control over what content you provide to the public.

Go to the Privacy settings

There are several ways to block content on YouTube, including by creator, category or label, account, and individual video. All of these can be accessed in the Settings area of your profile.

You’ll find this under the More tab. Here you can adjust who can view your videos and what types of comments they can leave you, as well as manage your subscriptions and channels.

To limit access to specific creators, go into My Profile and click on “Edit privacy settings.” You’ll see an option for “Content recommendations” where you can turn off suggested content, blocking certain people or brands, and limiting how many views their videos get.

There is also an option to “Block offensive content” here which will prevent anyone you are subscribed to from uploading potentially objectionable material. If you want to remain active on the platform, make sure this is set to only include general vulgarity and not anything more serious.

Look for the “Restrictions” option

Recent developments have made it possible to block certain types of content or users on YouTube. You can now access these tools directly from the platform!

If you come across something inappropriate, hateful, or distasteful, you can easily flag or report it. However, some things may go unnoticed unless someone reviews the video later or another user reports it.

That is where restrictions come in!

You can create your own restricted list which you can then include keywords or full phrases. For example, if there are many videos using racial slurs, you could restrict all Youtubers to private profile views while they’re blocked. This way, people will still be able to watch their videos but will not be able to see any additional information (no comments, no followers).

There is an easy way to do this as well! It can be found under Settings -> Restricted Mode. Here, you can add apps, sites, profiles, and modes. Just click the Add button to get started.

And don’t worry, this feature is very safe. Only you can view who else is on the restriction lists, and you can remove them just like anything else.

Check the boxes next to content you don’t want to see

There are times when you will come across an inappropriate video or article that is very disturbing, even hurtful. You may find yourself with tears in your eyes because of how much it bothers you, or anger boiling over as you try to figure out what kind of vulgarity was said about someone else, or something happening in the media that you feel needs attention.

You can choose from several ways to block this content on YouTube.

The first way is to go into your account settings and check the boxes next to content you do not want to view. This applies whether you are using the mobile app or desktop site version.

It is also possible to block individual users, making it impossible for them to upload any videos or comments. Or you can block all notifications so they cannot be alerted to new posts by someone else.

There is an easy way to learn which videos contain harmful material.

Create a profile photo

The next step in blocking content on YouTube is creating your user profile. This will include choosing an appropriate username, picking your state, country and region, as well as selecting your time zone.

You can also add personal notes, links, and profiles. You can even upload images or videos!

After you have done that, hit “save” and then wait for Google to review and approve your settings.

Google may ask why you want to block inappropriate content.

nv-author-image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *